Courtesy: Wichita State
TF: Gold Team Wins Intrasquad Meet 2012
Courtesy:Wichita State
Related Links

WICHITA, Kan.-  The Gold Squad claimed victory in the Wichita State Track & Field Intrasquad Meet for the second year in a row and fourth time in six years with 173 points.

The White Squad finished as the runner up (141) with the Gray Squad, taking third (123), and the Black Squad finishing fourth (102).

Missouri Valley Conference hurdles champion, Natalie Morerod, led the way for the Gold Squad. Morerod won three events and helped her team take first in the 4x300m relay.

Morerod set an Intrasquad meet record in the 300m with a time of 39.49. She also took first in the 150m (18.89) and the 60m Hurdles (8.71).

The Gray Squad , featuring Shocker Track & Field Alumni, had three multiple event winners. Competing for her first time as an alumni, Audacia Moore emerged victorious in both the long jump and triple jump, with jumps of 18-9, and 39-11.

Moore also placed second in the 60m dash (7.68). Shamoya Pruitt of the Black Squad edged Moore in a photo finish with a time of 7.67.

Chandra Andrews, who competed in the 2012 US Olympic Trials, bested the competition in both the shot put (43-9 ½) and the weight throw (59-8 ½). Andrews, the team's Academic Advisor, has now won the weight throw four years in a row.

Andrews placed second in the javelin with the Gold Squad's Emily Cook claiming first with a throw of 52-11.

Aaron Young returned to help the Gray Squad by winning the heptahlon (5,318) and the javelin (75-02). The Gray Squad also won the team's special relay, featuring hand walking, math problems, a mat crawl, push ups, bowling, a three legged race, and a tug of war.

The alumni dominated the men's 60m hurdles, with Todd McKown, Lawson Montgomery, and Sam Garrison taking the top three spots. McKown bested Montgomery by .01 seconds en route to first place.

Aliphine Tuliamuk-Bolton (5:07.33) and Jake Wike (4:30.19) helped the Gold Squad sweep first place in both the women's and men's mile. It was Tuliamuk-Bolton's second-consecutive win in the event and Wike's third.

Alex Freshour won the pole vault for the second-consecutive season, matching his 15-5 mark from a year ago. Cara Detmer won the women's pole vault by clearing the bar at 10-8.

White Squad won both the men's high jump and long jump. Kerry Graber bested teammate Garrett Lynch in the high jump by clearing the bar at 6-8. Grant Ralston won the long jump with a 23-0 leap.

J'Lynn Ledesma won the women's high jump for the Gold Squad with a 5-9 jump. Ledesma has now won the event three of the last four seasons.

Newcomer Blake Glasgow-Willard won the men's triple jump for the Gold Squad hitting the sand at 47-1. Chris Dubree added to Gold's win total by claiming the men's shot put title (54-0).

Sterling Spencer (8:45.79) of the White Squad topped teammate and defending MVC Champion Tomas Cotter in the men's 3000m run. Kaitlyn McLeod won the 300m for Gold Squad in the women's 3000m (10:14.80).

Devon Lockard  (16.66) won the men's 150m dash for the Black Squad. Austin Bahner took first for the White Squad in the 60m dash with 6.99 sprint.

The Gold Squad will hold Intrasquad bragging rights for the next year. WSU Track & Field begins indoor competition at the Heskett Center, Jan. 8-9 for the Herm Wilson invitational. 

-Wichita State -


Wichita State Track and Field
No Auctions Currently Available.
Auctions Home