Courtesy: Wichita State
TF:WSU Women Win MVC Indoor Championship, Men 2nd
Courtesy:Wichita State
Related Links

CEDAR FALLS, Iowa- For the third time in four seasons, the Wichita State Women's Track & Field team has won the Missouri Valley Conference Indoor Championship.

The Shocker women scored 147 points to beat second place Indiana State by nine. The WSU men's team finished second with 137 points. Indiana State took first place on the men's side with 164.50 points.

WSU's women's team won four individual conference championships and one relay championship. On the men's side WSU won three individual conference titles.

Trailing by 37 points entering the final event of the men's heptathlon, Austin Bahner ran a personal best of 2:44.36 in the 1,000m to win the Missouri Valley Conference Heptathlon Championship.

Bahner's 5,645 point effort ranks 14th nationally and will likely qualify him the NCAA Indoor Championships in two weeks.  He defeated his closest competition by 113 points.

Tobias Boese  (5,370) placed fourth in the heptathlon to add five points to the Shockers team total. Mac Griffith (5,034) and Justin Hickey (4,903) both scored points for the men's team in the event.

Senior, Courtney Reinke set a new personal record (PR) in the women's triple jump with a 41-5 leap. Reinke placed second in the event to score eight more points for the Shockers. The senior earned six points on day one with a third place finish in the long jump.

Kerry Graber won the men's high jump by clearing the bar at 6-9 ¾. The freshman scored 10 points for the Shockers. Teammate, Zach Budda placed fourth with a 6-8 jump to earn five points.

Garrett Lynch (6-6) added three points for the WSU men. Brandon Childs  (6-6) also added a point for the Shockers in the high jump.

In the men's mile, Jake Wike placed third. Tomas Cotter finished fourth. The seniors combined for 11 points for Wichita State in the mile.

DJ Lindsay placed second in the 400m dash with a 49.14 mark. Lindsay earned All-MVC honors for the third time. He returned to claim third place in the 200m dash with a 22.15 sprint.

Shamoya Pruitt improved her personal best in the 60m dash with a time of 7.56. Pruitt secured third place for her efforts and picked up six points for the Shockers.

In the women's 60m hurdles, Shanice Andrews (8.56) score six points for the Shockers with a third place finish. Andrews earned All-MVC honors for the first time in her career.

Wichita State claimed three of the top five spots in the men's 800m run. Ryan Hocker, ranked fifth in the conference entering the race, pulled off an upset to win his first MVC Championship with a personal record of 1:52.59.

Jake Wike placed second in the event, while teammate Kelvin Busienei finished fifth in the 800m. The Shockers scored 22 points in the event.

Freshman, Shazz-Michael Lindo placed second in the men's triple jump with a 49-5 ¾, a new personal best.

Fellow freshman, Blake Glasgow-Willard (47-11 ¼) picked up five points for the Shockers with a fourth place finish in the event. Glasogow- Willard also set a new PR.

Aliphine Tuliamuk-Bolton won her 10th Individual MVC Championship in the 5,000m run. The senior won three MVC Championships during the meet with first place finishes in the 3,000m run and the Distance Medley Relay on day one.

In the women's mile, Tuliamuk-Bolton narrowly missed her 11th conference championship as she placed second with a time of 4:49.32. Rachel Brewer of Illinois State edged Tuliamuk-Bolton by .004 seconds.

Tuliamuk-Bolton scored 28 points individually to lead all athletes on the women's side. Her efforts earned her the MVC Most Valuable Athlete Award.

For the second consecutive season, J'Lynn Ledesma won the MVC Women's Indoor High Jump Championship. Ledesma broke her own school, and conference record by clearing the bar 6-1 ¼ . This performance also ranks Ledesma eighth nationally.

Ledesma's jump clinched the team victory for the Shocker women who have now captured 11 Championships under Head Coach, Steve Rainbolt. Rainbolt won the MVC Indoor Women's Coach of the Year Award for coaching the Shockers to their 16th team championship since 2000.

-Wichita State-

Wichita State Track and Field
No Auctions Currently Available.
Auctions Home