Courtesy: Wichita State
WTen: Shockers Win Four Individual Championships
Courtesy:Wichita State
Related Links

WICHITA, Kan.- The Wichita State women's tennis team won four individual championships, as play concluded on Sunday at the Missouri Valley Conference Women's Tennis Individual Championships at the Sheldon Coleman Tennis Complex.

Juniors Montse Blasco Fernandez and Satjaporn Mahajaroenkul took the flight three doubles championship, defeating Mariel Ante and Maddie Johnson of Drake, 8-4. In the flight two championship, Carla Venticinque and freshman Rebecca Pedrazzi fell to Jennifer Dien and Natasha Tomishima of Southern Illinois, 8-3.

In singles play, the Shockers took home the championship in the fourth, fifth and sixth flights. Rebecca Pedrazzi defeated Kadi Ilves of Illinois State, 6-4, 6-1, Satjaporn Mahajaroenkul defeated Stefanie Youngberg, also of Illinois State, 6-0, 6-0, and Montse Blasco Fernandez came back after losing the first set to defeat Maddie Johnson of Drake, 6-7, 6-3, 6-4.

In flight two singles, Lucia Kovalova fell to Phyllis Tigges of Illinois State in a tough three-set match, 1-6, 6-3, 6-4.

Junior Carla Venticinque took third place in flight three singles by defeating Nell Boyd of Drake, 6-2, 6-0, and freshman Summer Schlotterback fell in the fifth place match of flight seven to Heather Nisbet of Illinois State, 7-6, 6-3.

The Shocker women will be back in action October 19-22 when they will travel to Tulsa, Okla. for the USTA/ITA Central Regional Championships.


Wichita State Women's Tennis
No Auctions Currently Available.
Auctions Home