Courtesy: Wichita State
TF: Poe, Ferguson to Compete at USATF Jr. Championships
Courtesy:Wichita State
Release:07/02/2014
Related Links

WICHITA, Kan. – Wichita State freshman track and field student-athlete Isaac Poe and Wichita State incoming track and field student-athlete Kord Ferguson, the nation’s top high school track and field thrower, will compete at this weekend’s USA Track and Field Junior Outdoor Championships on Saturday and Sunday at Hayward Field in Eugene, Ore.

The 2014 USATF Junior Outdoor Championships will serve as a qualifier for the 2014 IAAF World Junior Championships. Top performers will be part of the American team that will have the unique opportunity to return to Eugene from July 22-27.

The 2014 edition of the IAAF World Junior Championships marks the first time the event has ever been held in the United States.

Poe will begin competition in the first round of the 400-meter hurdles on Saturday at 4:50 p.m. C.T./2:50 p.m. P.T. If he advances out of the first round, he will compete in the 400-meter hurdles finals on Sunday at 7 p.m. C.T./5 p.m. P.T.

Ferguson will compete in both the discus throw and the shot put. The discus throw final takes place on Saturday at 4:40 p.m. C.T./2:40 p.m. P.T. while the shot put final takes place on Sunday at 6 p.m. C.T./4 p.m. P.T.

This weekend’s USA Track and Field Junior Championships will be the second time Poe has competed at Hayward field this season. He previously earned third place in the 400-meter hurdles at the Oregon Relays after running a time of 54 seconds.

The rest of Poe’s season has included a win, a second-place finish and a fifth-place finish. He won the 400-meter hurdles at the KSU Wildcat Open with a time of 53.45, was second in the 400-meter hurdles at the Ward Haylett Invitational with a time of 53.64 and placed fifth at the KT Woodman Classic with a time of 55.78.

Ferguson won every event he participated in during 2014 in the discus throw and the shot put.  His best performance in the shot put was when he won the Shawnee Mission North (Kan.) Relays when he threw 66’-4” while in the discus throw, he won the Kansas 4A Regional by throwing 210’-3”.

The following times and distances are the personal bests of the events Poe and Ferguson will be competing in at the USA Track and Field Junior Outdoor Championships:

Isaac Poe

400-meter hurdles—53.45

Kord Ferguson

Discus Throw—210’-3”

Shot Put—66’-4”

The results of the USA Track and Field Junior Outdoor Championships will be posted after each portion is completed on Saturday and Sunday.

-WICHITA STATE-

Wichita State Track and Field
STORE
AUCTIONS
DONATE
No Auctions Currently Available.
Auctions Home